top of page
  • Writer's pictureIneka Estabrook

Pronounce /rθ/ in Earth and /θr/ in three

Updated: Dec 6, 2020

Two difficult sound in a row! You can do it.


How to make the /θr/ and /rθ/sounds:

Tom make the /θr/, place the tongue lightly on the bottom of the top teeth for th. After blowing your air through, retract your tongue into the shape of the /r/. The sides of your tongue touch the sides of your upper teeth and forms a bowl shape while the tip of your tongue touches nothing at all. To make the /rθ/, just reverse the order.

 

CLICK BELOW TO LISTEN


Practice Reading:

There were three days before Christmas and we were driving north to the Netherlands to visit my father and mother. My brother and his family were going to be there, too. I was thrilled to be seeing everyone, but I had a sore throat and felt under the weather. My children and I packed up the car and headed off for the three hour drive. As soon as we left the house, my son started up, “Are we there yet? I need to go to the bathroom.” My daughter was poking her brother. Very quickly, I wanted to throw everyone out of the window and go by myself, but I kept my temper. When we finally got there, my mother had decorated the hearth with candles, garlands of greenery, and there were three Christmas trees. The drive was worth it and I was so glad to be there together with all of my family.

More practice with /r/ and /th/:





9 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page