top of page
  • Writer's pictureIneka Estabrook

Primary Stress

Updated: Jul 28, 2020

The primary stress of a word is the syllable that is pronounced longer, higher, and louder. The vowels in most other syllables become schwas, the unaccented "uh" sound that is the most common vowel sound in the English language. This isn't always the case (such as in telephone: /TE luh fon/) but it often is (as in hospital: /HAHS puh tuhl/).

 

CLICK BELOW TO LISTEN


Practice Reading:

The principal of California Morning Elementary School called me on the telephone to offer me a job as the science teacher. I was going to teach ecology and oceanography to eleven through fifteen year old students. I thought it was impossible for me to get the job as I had a questionable background in science, but I had done an internship in an aquarium and they liked that. It was a beautiful day!


More about primary stress:


#EnglishPronunciation#PrimaryStress #EnglishPronuncitionPrimaryStress #PrimaryStressPracticeReadingForAdults #PrimaryStressPracticeReading

81 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page